Rounding off the story of the BRC so far, the latest decade started with a success story for the Pirelli Star Driver project when Keith Cronin was rewarded with a drive in the BRC in 2010 and won the series, this time in a Subaru.  For 2010 World Rally Cars were not admitted and the Scottish driver David Bogie was champion the following year in his Mitsubishi, the final year before a major change would come to the series.  The decision was made that the 2012 series would be limited to two-wheel-drive cars.  This was a timely move given the increasing degree of development of these cars.  The series was sponsored in 2010 by Dulux Trade, an important move as this was not a direct support from the motor industry itself.  One make support championships flourished, notably with Mitsubishi and the Fiesta ST models.  At this time the French manufacturer competition departments were active in the BRC.  Bryan Bouffier entered the Ulster Rally in 2010 with a DS3 R3 turbocharged car making its global competition debut and finished fifth BRC finisher, best two-wheel-drive.  In terms of performance and also availability these cars were magic, and from 2012 onwards these cars were unbeatable except for on one occasion when Mark Donelly won the Sunseeker Rally.  The international class systems were now fully in force and this opened up rivalry further down the results for cars complying with the R2 rules.  It also renewed interest in the BRC from manufacturers notably from France with Renault using BRC events for testing new evolution versions of their cars.

The final championship in the old style BRC came in 2014 with the Manx International Rally, a longer event which was run as a double -header event.  The Citroen era in the BRC had brought three different champions (Cronin, the Finn Jukka Korhonen and finally the Irish driver Daniel McKenna) before a decision the BRC would take a Sabbatical break in 2015 before a new style series would be run in 2016.  The two-wheel-drive series had been a remarkable endeavour, an opportunity to encourage more appropriate and meaningful motorsport.  At the heart of the final 13 years of the series, the most fast-moving days, had been Mark Taylor who served firstly as the rally manager and then as the official promoter of the series.  There was also sadness in 2014 when a tragic spectator accident led to a reappraisal of the unique background authority behind the Jim Clark Memorial Rally, the forerunner of the closed public road special stages in mainland Britain.  Looking back over the first half century however, few national championships around the world could claim to have served to develop the careers of so many world rally champions, and in earlier years proved just as attractive for many manufacturers from other countries as even the WRC.  The major change of formula in which two-wheel-drive cars were the premier formula was a bold decision and one which led to similar ones in countries as far afield as Australia.  From driving round narrow open public roads in the middle of the night in the later fifties to stages which are nowadays the envy of drivers round the world, the BRC has quite a special heritage.

Sign up to the BRC Newsletter

Subscribe to the BRC Newsletter to get the latest info and results on BRC Rally events.

Reis Motorsport Insurance Logo
Probite Logo
Motorsport Showroom Logo
Masterbuilt Logo
Carless Racing Fuels Logo
evo Logo
Omologato Logo
Michelin Logo
Pirelli Logo
Hankook Logo