Thanks to Martin Holmes we have a detailed history of the British Rally Championship through from the 1970s to current date. Martin was even victorious on some of the earlier rounds in the late 1960s.

The series started in 1958, won then by Ron Gouldbourn and Stuart Turner in a Triumph TR3A. Turner went onto manage the BMC rally team that won Monte Carlo with Paddy Hopkirk in a MINI before introducing scores of Finns to the British rallying scene through his time as boss of Ford Motorsport.

Many careers have been started on these shores. Five British Rally Champions have gone onto become World Rally Champion, many others have competed here and didn’t have UK success but did on the world stage.

Success on the British Rally Championship is still translating to success in the European and World Rally Championship: Elfyn Evans, Craig Breen, Kris Meeke, Scott Martin, Seb Marshall, Daniel Barritt are all making a name for themselves in rallying across the globe and it started in the BRC.

Sign up to the BRC Newsletter

Subscribe to the BRC Newsletter to get the latest info and results on BRC Rally events.

Reis Motorsport Insurance Logo
Probite Logo
Motorsport Showroom Logo
Masterbuilt Logo
Carless Racing Fuels Logo
evo Logo
Omologato Logo
Michelin Logo
Pirelli Logo
Hankook Logo